Form D · Hedge Fund

Magnetar Capital Fund, LP

Evanston, IL · CIK 0001359757

Offering snapshot reported Feb 14, 2022 · SEC filing

Reported sold
$1.49B
Indefinite offering
Investors reported
170
Form D · investor count
Minimum accepted
$5M
Reported outside-investor minimum
First sale
Sep 9, 2005
As reported in this filing

Fundraising history

Reported sold
Reported amount sold by Form D filing date$0$825M$1.65BFeb 20, 2009: $1,356,099,586.00Feb 20, 2009Feb 22, 2010: $1,397,399,422.00Feb 28, 2011: $1,397,399,422.00Feb 28, 2012: $1,346,181,826.00Feb 28, 2013: $1,437,614,097.00Feb 11, 2014: $1,449,601,325.00Feb 11, 2015: $1,458,804,628.00Feb 11, 2016: $1,650,306,834.00Feb 10, 2017: $1,474,791,115.00Feb 12, 2018: $1,494,355,915.00Feb 12, 2019: $1,494,355,915.00Feb 12, 2020: $1,494,355,915.00Feb 12, 2021: $1,494,355,915.00Feb 14, 2022: $1,494,355,915.00Feb 14, 2022

Dates are filing dates, not cash receipt dates. Decreases are reported revisions, not evidence of withdrawals. Separate offering histories are not added together.

What changed?

Latest filing versus its linked predecessor, where available.

No comparable changes in the displayed metrics.

Filing history

Scroll to see all columns →

FiledFiling typeReported soldChange vs linked filingInvestorsSource
Feb 14, 2022Amendment$1,494,355,915$0vs Feb 12, 2021170SEC filing
Feb 12, 2021Amendment$1,494,355,915$0vs Feb 12, 2020170SEC filing
Feb 12, 2020Amendment$1,494,355,915$0vs Feb 12, 2019170SEC filing
Feb 12, 2019Amendment$1,494,355,915$0vs Feb 12, 2018170SEC filing
Feb 12, 2018Amendment$1,494,355,915$19,564,800vs Feb 10, 2017170SEC filing
Feb 10, 2017Amendment$1,474,791,115-$175,515,719vs Feb 11, 2016163SEC filing
Feb 11, 2016Amendment$1,650,306,834$191,502,206vs Feb 11, 2015159SEC filing
Feb 11, 2015Amendment$1,458,804,628$9,203,303vs Feb 11, 2014149SEC filing
Feb 11, 2014Amendment$1,449,601,325$11,987,228vs Feb 28, 2013144SEC filing
Feb 28, 2013Amendment$1,437,614,097$91,432,271vs Feb 28, 2012136SEC filing
Feb 28, 2012Amendment$1,346,181,826-$51,217,596vs Feb 28, 2011109SEC filing
Feb 28, 2011Amendment$1,397,399,422$0vs Feb 22, 2010105SEC filing
Feb 22, 2010Amendment$1,397,399,422$41,299,836vs Feb 20, 2009105SEC filing
Feb 20, 2009Amendment$1,356,099,586No comparisonNot reportedSEC filing
Apr 3, 2006PaperNot reportedNo comparisonNot reported

Offering details

Securities
Pooled investment fund
Exemptions
06b, 3C, 3C.7
Duration over one year
Yes
Business combination
No
Sales commissions
$0
Finders' fees
$0
Form D file number
021-88584

Source: Form D, filed Feb 14, 2022. Minimum accepted may differ from a standard advertised minimum.

Fund connections

The linked fund shows its most recently reported ADV details.

Matched by reported Form D file number

MCLP

Investment adviser: MAGNETAR FINANCIAL LLC

Gross asset value
$2.32M
Beneficial owners
57
ADV minimum commitment
$100K

Reported in Form ADV on Aug 5, 2026. Fund assets and beneficial owners measure different things from Form D sales and investors.

Service providers

Fund administrator NORTHERN TRUST CHICAGO, Illinois, United States Investor statements: Yes (provided to all investors) Related to adviser: No
Auditor ERNST & YOUNG LLP CHICAGO, Illinois, United States
Custodian THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON NEW YORK, New York, United States Related to adviser: No
Provider details
Annual audit
Yes
Prime brokers
No
Custodians
Yes
Administrator other than the adviser
Yes
External marketing
No

ERNST & YOUNG LLP
PCAOB 42

THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON
LEI HPFHU0OQ28E4N0NFVK49

Filing source

Form ADV 2122076 · Aug 5, 2026 · Schedule D 7.B.(1), fund 805-6820973196

Official IAPD profile (latest public filing). Values are the most recently reported in our imported data; the public profile may show a newer filing.

People & organizations

Current and past Form D appearances. These existing records do not establish a person's current role or uniquely identify them across issuers.

People and organizations reported in Form D filings
NameReported role
Ross Laser Executive
Alec N. Litowitz Executive
N/A Magnetar Financial Llc Executive
Paul Smith Executive
David Snyderman Executive
Michael Turro Executive

Issuer details

Industry: Pooled Investment Fund (See others in industry)

Address:
1603 Orrington Avenue, 13th Floor
Evanston, IL, 60201